Change the world

Computing Sciences



Support Staff
Mr. Jean Rademakers
Mr. Jean Rademakers
Position: Network Administrator
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2712
Fax: 27 41 504 9028
Email: jean.rademakers@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip. Computer Data Processing (CDP) and Information Technology (IT)

Mrs. Hayley Irvine
Mrs Hayley Irvine
Position: Short Course Co-ordinator / Assistant Network Administrator
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2092
Fax: 27 41 504 5831
Email: hayley.irvine@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MCSE, A+, Network +, MCT

Ms. Ntombizanele Mildred
Ms. Ntombizanele Zomba
Position: Assitant - Laboratory
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 0217
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0817591439
Email: ntombizanele.zomba@mandela.ac.za

Jarryd Matthew Johnson
Mr Jarryd Johnson
Position: Assistant System Administrator
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 0208
Location: South Campus
Phone: (041) 504 2083
Email: Jarryd.Johnson@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech: IT (Communication Networks)

Academic Staff
Dr. Brenda Scholtz
Prof Brenda Scholtz
Position: Associate Professor & HOD
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090211
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2079
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: brenda.scholtz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Phd
Expertise: data analytics; BPM; databases; ERP systems
Responsibilities: HOD; Department Approvals; Lecturing; Project coordinator for research projects with Oldenburg University

Prof. Janet Wesson
Prof. Janet Wesson
Position: Professor and CoE Centre Head
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2323
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: janet.wesson@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MCom, PhD(UPE), MCSSA, MICSIT
Expertise: Human-centred computing: Human computer interaction (HCI) Information visualization Interaction design Ubiquitous and mobile computing

Prof. Charmain Cilliers
Prof. Charmain Cilliers
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2235
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: charmain.cilliers@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Computers in Education
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/CharmainCilliers/

Prof. André Calitz
Prof André Calitz
Position: Professor
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: Embizweni 0233
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2639
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: andre.calitz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD, DBA, PMIITPSA.
Expertise: Business Intelligence, User Experience, Big Data, Project Management.
Responsibilities: Academic lecturing and research

Dr. Lynette Barnard
Dr. Lynette Barnard
Position: Senior Lecturer & CoE Unit Member
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090101g
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2859
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: lynette.barnard@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: E-commerce, Human computer interaction, Information security (importance of company information), Usability testing of websites
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/LynetteBarnard/

Dr. Dieter Vogts
Dr. Dieter Vogts
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090101F
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2089
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: dieter.vogts@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Computer Science

Dr Leda van der Post
Dr Leda van der Post
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 09-02-32
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2091
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: leda.vanderpost@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BAFA, BA (Hons) CS, HDE, MSc, PhD

Dr MC du Plessis
Dr MC du Plessis
Position: Snr Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090101A
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2076
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: mc.duplessis@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PHD Computer Science

Ms. CH Dixie
Ms. CH Dixie
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2213
Fax: +27 41 504 2831
Email: dixie@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Computer Education
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/CHDixie/

Ms. Marinda Taljaard
Ms. Marinda Taljaard
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2668
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: marinda.taljaard@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/MarindaTaljaard/

Mrs. Janine Nel
Mrs. Janine Nel
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: Room 0101D
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2080
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: janine.nel@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BsC Honours Computer Science

Mr Ntembeko Jafta
Mr Ntembeko Jafta
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Missionvale Campus
Email: ntembeko.jafta@mandela.ac.za

Anthea
Mrs Anthea Van der Hoogen
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 0101C
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042758
Email: anthea.vanderhoogen@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MCom (CS & IS)
Expertise: Enterprise Systems
Responsibilities: Lecturing, Supervising, Research
My site: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Anthea_Van_Der_Hoogen

Administration Staff
Csadpf
Mrs Duduetsang Fani
Position: Admin Coordinator
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 0214
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2530
Email: duduetsang.fani2@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom

Ms Thando Teyise
Ms Thando Teyise
Position: Administative Assistant
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2652
Fax: 27 41 504 9933
Email: thando.teyise@mandela.ac.za

Xolisam
Mr Xolisa Mgwelo
Position: Marketing & Public Relations Assistant
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 0214
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0412052247
Email: xolisa.mgwelo@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Marketing

Mrs. Desma Van Der Walt
Mrs Desma Van Der Walt
Position: NMMU/Telkom Admin Assitant; Part-time lecturer Visual Arts
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 0230 Second Floor, Embizweni Blg
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2322
Email: desma.vanderwalt@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Diploma in Education, Certificate in Organisation and Work Study
Expertise: General
Responsibilities: Administrative and Financial; Lecturering Visual Arts; SLPs admin