Change the world

Computing Sciences


Academic Staff
Dr. Brenda Scholtz
Dr Brenda Scholtz
Position: Senior Lecturer & HOD
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090211
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2079
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: brenda.scholtz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Phd
Expertise: BPM; databases; ERP systems
Responsibilities: HOD; Department Approvals; Lecturing; Project coordinator for research projects with Oldenburg University

Prof. Jean Greyling
Prof. Jean Greyling
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090218
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2081
Fax: 27 41 504 9187
Email: jean.greyling@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/JeanGreyling/

Prof. Janet Wesson
Prof. Janet Wesson
Position: Professor and CoE Centre Head
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2323
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: janet.wesson@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MCom, PhD(UPE), MCSSA, MICSIT
Expertise: Human-centred computing: Human computer interaction (HCI) Information visualization Interaction design Ubiquitous and mobile computing

Prof. André Calitz
Prof André Calitz
Position: Professor
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: Embizweni 0233
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2639
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: andre.calitz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD, DBA, PMIITPSA.
Expertise: Business Intelligence, User Experience, Big Data, Project Management.
Responsibilities: Academic lecturing and research
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/AndreCalitz/

Prof. Charmain Cilliers
Prof. Charmain Cilliers
Position: Associate Professor
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2235
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: charmain.cilliers@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Computers in Education
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/CharmainCilliers/

Dr. Lynette Barnard
Dr. Lynette Barnard
Position: Senior Lecturer & CoE Unit Member
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090101g
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2859
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: lynette.barnard@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: E-commerce, Human computer interaction, Information security (importance of company information), Usability testing of websites
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/LynetteBarnard/

Dr. Dieter Vogts
Dr. Dieter Vogts
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090101F
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2089
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: dieter.vogts@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Computer Science

Dr Leda van der Post
Dr Leda van der Post
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 09-02-32
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2091
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: leda.vanderpost@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BAFA, BA (Hons) CS, HDE, MSc, PhD

Ms. CH Dixie
Ms. CH Dixie
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2213
Fax: +27 41 504 2831
Email: dixie@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Computer Education
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/CHDixie/

Dr MC du Plessis
Dr MC du Plessis
Position: Snr Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 090101A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2076
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: mc.duplessis@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PHD Computer Science

Ms. Amanda Esterhuyse
Ms. Amanda Esterhuyse
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1215
Email: amanda.esterhuyse@mandela.ac.za

Kevin A. Naudé
Dr. Kevin Naudé
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: 09-01-01b
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2078
Fax: 27 41 504 9136
Email: kevin.naude@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD, NMMU, 2014

Mrs. Janine Nel
Mrs. Janine Nel
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Room: Room 0101D
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2080
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: janine.nel@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BsC Honours Computer Science

Ms. Marinda Taljaard
Ms. Marinda Taljaard
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2668
Fax: 27 41 504 2831
Email: marinda.taljaard@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/MarindaTaljaard/

Ms. Natalie Tansley
Ms. Natalie Tansley
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1217
Fax: 27 41 504 1213
Email: natalie.tansley@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MTECH(BIS), BTECH (IT), NDIP (CDP)

Mr Ntembeko Jafta
Mr Ntembeko Jafta
Position: Lecturer
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Missionvale Campus
Email: ntembeko.jafta@mandela.ac.za

Administration Staff
Ms Vuyo Dudumayo
Ms Vuyokazi Dudumayo
Position: Secretary
Room: 09-0214
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2247
Fax: 5049859
Email: Vuyo.Dudumayo@mandela.ac.za

Mrs. Desma Van Der Walt
Mrs Desma Van Der Walt
Position: NMMU/Telkom Admin Assitant; Part-time lecturer Visual Arts
Room: 0230 Second Floor, Embizweni Blg
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2322
Email: desma.vanderwalt@mandela.ac.za

Csadpf
Mrs Duduetsang Fani
Position: Admin Coordinator
Room: 0214
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2530
Email: duduetsang.fani2@mandela.ac.za

Ms Thando Teyise
Ms Thando Teyise
Position: Administative Assistant
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2652
Fax: 27 41 504 9933
Email: thando.teyise@mandela.ac.za

Support Staff
Mr. Jean Rademakers
Mr. Jean Rademakers
Position: Network Administrator
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2712
Fax: 27 41 504 9028
Email: jean.rademakers@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip. Computer Data Processing (CDP) and Information Technology (IT)

Mrs. Hayley Irvine
Mrs Hayley Irvine
Position: Short Course Co-ordinator / Assistant Network Administrator
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2092
Fax: 27 41 504 5831
Email: hayley.irvine@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MCSE, A+, Network +, MCT

Ms. Mildred Zomba
Ms. Mildred Zomba
Position: Assitant - Laboratory
Department: Computing Sciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: mildred.zomba@mandela.ac.za